Simple Pleasures


I thought this post very poignant and educational which I hope my readers will take the time to read. Although my experience was not exactly the same on visiting my husbands family in Pakistan it was similar. This post brings back memories of visiting friends relatives in Konya, Turkey. A time I will never forget and although I found it hard I would certainly do it again and be more prepared. Genuine people and hospitality as tinky says far outweigh the materialistic needs we have got used to.

Crazy Train To Tinky Town

Last Christmas, we made the sixteen hour car journey to Kahramanmaraş to see some of Ahmed’s family.  As I slept for most of the journey, it wasn’t too much of a hardship for me and although I had suggested we stop halfway and stay at one of the many roadside inns, Ahmed was having none of it. True to his frugal roots he drove on through the night, however, we did stop at a couple of roadside cafes frequented by the many coaches taking hordes of passengers to visit their families during the holiday season.  I also soon discovered that the clothes I had packed back in England for a sunny Turkish resort weren’t equipped to deal with the very cold Kahramanmaraş weather.

Nothing had prepared me for the visit to Kahramanmaraş, as whilst I was warmly welcomed by Ahmed’s non-English speaking family to the point where they insisted I…

View original post 621 more words

Please Leave a comment

