Are you guilty of Predudice and Discrimination?.


I was prompted to write this because i read on someones blog that they could no longer be friends with their gay friend of 2 years. They hated the fact that he was gay just as much as they hated Muslims!!

This is  so common but i still find it hard to accept these kind of people or even give them a moment of my time/thought.(which i am doing at this moment lol)  Is that discrimination on my part , i wonder ?

  • Prejudice is an unjustified or incorrect attitude(usually negative) towards an individual based solely on the individual’s membership of a social group.

For example, a person may be prejudice towards a certain race or gender etc. (e.g. sexist).

  • Discrimination is the behavior or actions, usually negative, towards an individual or group of people, especially on the basis of sex/race/social class.

During my life i have faced both prejudice and discrimination. My father was Polish and settled here in the UK after the war. Growing up i often faced insults .e.g “dirty Polak go home” . My mother was accused of being a traitor to her kind and my father hated for pinching a woman beyond his class/culture/league. We were despised because my father made a success of his life and i have to say this was because he was a worker and not a lounger and moaner like the people who despised us. I am pretty tough skinned so i don’t think this did any permanent damage to my self esteem.

During my 45 years of marriage to a lovely, peace loving,laid back Pakistani i faced even worse prejudice and discrimination. “whore, low class, paki lover amongst a few. I made friends who seemed to like me and when they found that i was married to an Asian they completely changed their opinion. I have been turned down for jobs as soon as i gave my married name, my children have been treated as second hand goods and we have been treated unfairly by police, airport officials etc etc.

My husband has often been told “I don’t like Pakis but your different” stupid people!! He shrugs it off and i am proud to say that he is comfortable in his own skin. As far as i am concerned i am not so tolerant and they don’t stay on our friends list for long 😉 I have been told ” I cant believe your a Muslim, i cant believe your married to a Paki, you just don’t seem the sort”! I wouldn’t even give these people a second chance.

Do you have to be intelligent or educated to realise that every individual is different from the next and that they cant be judged on the behaviour of others ?. Every individual has the right to be either accepted or rejected on their own personality/actions or behaviour.

I have often thought that if everyone was content from the very beginning,with who they are,and were also content to let others be who they are,then perhaps we would all be content to live and let live. Hubby and i have instilled this in our children and we are proud to say that they have grown into well adjusted individuals who are broad minded, intelligent, just and proud of their heritage.

 

  • Ignorance and prejudice are the handmaidens of propaganda. Our mission, therefore, is to confront ignorance with knowledge, bigotry with tolerance, and isolation with the outstretched hand of generosity. Racism** can, will, and must be defeated.”  ―    Kofi Annan
  • **sexisim, sexuality,disability etc
2 Responses

  1. . . not much to say Ros, except you and hubby have got my vote!

    Like

Please Leave a comment

